The Austin Food Blogger Alliance (AFBA) is pleased to announce the dates and keynote speakers for its first conference, Byte of Texas. Slated forSeptember 27 & 28, 2014, the Byte of Texas conference will be the first of its kind, exploring Texas food culture, photography, and technology. 

The conference keynote will be presented by James Beard Award-winning author Lisa Fain. Her blog The Homesick Texan was named one of the top 50 food blogs in the world by the Times of London and Best Regional Cuisine Food Blog by SAVEUR. She is also the author of The Homesick Texan Cookbook, an IACP Award finalist, and newly released The Homesick Texan’s Family Table

Other keynotes include noted Austin-based food photographer Melissa Skorpil and Austin-based blogger Jeanine Donofrio, whose blog Love & Lemons was awarded SAVEUR’s 2014 Reader’s Choice Award for Best Cooking Blog. 

Additional panels and presentations will explore Texas food culture, SEO, blog syndication, WordPress plugins, food writing, blogging ethics, and more. An accompanying book fair will feature works about food and Texas food culture from local authors, available for purchase. 

The Byte of Texas conference marks the largest endeavor to date for AFBA, which was founded in 2011 as the first food blogging nonprofit of its kind. This is the first conference in the U.S. to be hosted by a nonprofit food blogging organization. It is expected to draw food writers and bloggers from across the United States, in addition to AFBA’s local membership.

AFBA enjoys tremendous community support, with the Bullock Texas State History Museum as a presenting sponsor. Other key supporters include Salty Sow, Chameleon Cold-Brew, Bob’s Red Mill, Food Fanatic, and The Harvard Common Press.

Conference tickets will go on sale June 25th and will be available through the website, www.byteoftexas.com. Admission to the conference book fair will be free and open to the public. For more information visit: www.byteoftexas.com. For more information about AFBA, visit www.austinfoodbloggers.org.


Courtesy of:

Megan Myers
Vice President, Austin Food Blogger Alliance